Co-Creating with God

Ignite Your Light & Business with the Power of Connection

Understanding Horoscopic Astrology and Eastern and Western Horoscopes

web site

Send Feedback to Jackson Swift
About Author
Report Problem
Tweet This

Share on Facebook Pin it

Horoscopic Astrology is a one of the many astrological systems in existence today. Some claim it developed in the Mediterranean region during the late 2nd or early 1st century BC. It is also closely linked to the Vedic astrology, which some say is the oldest surviving form of horoscopic astrology.

In Vedic astrology a two-dimensional diagram divides the heavens. Horoscopes, or astrological charts, are created from this by measuring the alignment of the celestial bodies against specific moments in time and from a specific point on Earth. The horoscope is also divided into 12 celestial houses. To properly cast a horoscope, calculations are performed using arithmetic and geometry.

Horoscopic astrology is different from other astrological traditions because of the computation of the degree of the Eastern horizon rising against the backdrop of the ecliptic at the specified moment. This is also known as the ascendant.

This type of astrology is also the most widespread in places like Africa, India, Europe and the Middle East. Most Western astrological traditions are rooted in Hellenistic origins.

Today, horoscopic astrology is divided into four branches that is determined by objective. Natal astrology uses the person's birth chart, Katarchic astrology is geared more towards divination of events, Horary astrology answers specific questions and World astrology is applied to the interpretation of world events.

Eastern vs Western Horoscopes

Western astrology is significantly different from Eastern astrology. Western astrology relies heavily on the 12 signs of the horoscope and plotting the birth chart. Some concepts you may come across when studying Western astrology include the native, celestial spheres, the plane of the equator, the plane of the ecliptic, the plane of the horizon, angles, houses and much more.

When constructing horoscope using Western Astrology, one has to base the analysis on the birth of the subject. For a more detailed analysis, a natal chart can be generated using the exact time and place of birth. This is then translated as Universal Time and converted into local sidereal time. The ephemeris determines the positions of certain celestial bodies during the time of birth. Mathematical equations are used to measure angles.

Horoscopes of the east, on the other hand, rely heavily on the symbolisms of the Chinese zodiac. This system of elements and animals are associated with the year of birth and how it falls on the sexagenary cycle. Chinese astrology also has a system called Zi Wei Dou Shu, which computes fate and destiny based on birthday and birth hours.

One thing they have in common is they work along 12 symbols. There are 12 zodiacs of Western astrology which are the following: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

Chinese zodiacs have 12 animal signs that include the following; Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Ram, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig.

These western zodiac signs are said to be governed by planets while eastern animal zodiac are said to be affected by elements (wood, fire, earth, metal and water).

Jackson Swift is the author of this article for Universal Psychic Guild that offers free phone psychic, ask psychic services and email psychic readings.


Please scroll down to leave a comment below...

Contact the Author

Jackson Swift

Jackson Swift's web site

awesome comments

This article has been viewed 242 time(s).



Be featured on our site and connect with other Christ-centered entrepreneurs.
Click here for details.